All of a site’s settings are controlled through a single editing interface available in the regular PadPOS client on the iPad. Windows, Mac OS X, and iPhone clients do not allow settings editing at the current time. Settings can be edited by anyone with the appropriate administrative operator privileges on your server. Settings can be edited from the local network or over the internet (via our Cloud Services).
You must have a login code with administrative privileges in order to edit settings. Your server must be running and your PadPOS client app must have a network connection to your server (either via your local network or via our Cloud Services). If you are the owner of a server but have somehow lost your administrative access login or are unable to start your server, please contact your implementor or contact our help-desk directly.
Only one operator can access the settings at a time. If another operator is currently accessing the settings, you will need to wait for them to finish up before you can make changes. In rare scenarios, if you lose your network connection whilst accessing the settings, the server may take a short while to realise that you are no longer connected. During this period, all operators may be locked out of the settings. This scenario will resolve itself after a minute or so.
- Open the PadPOS client app on your iPad and use your administrative login code to log into your server.
- Once you are logged in, tap on the actions button at the top right of the screen.
- A drop down menu will appear. Tap on “Edit Settings…”
- The settings screen should now be visible. On the left side of the screen are a number of settings categories. You can tap on these to switch your view between the various settings. Changes you make to the settings are not lost when changing views.
- At the top left is a “Save Edits” button. Tapping this writes your edits to the server. You should use this from time to time during a long editing session to ensure that your changes are saved. Leaving the settings screen entirely by tapping on the “Login” or “Tables” tabs will also save your settings automatically.
- The “Revert Edits” button causes all of your unsaved edits from the current edit session to be discarded. Your unsaved edits will also be discarded if you unexpectedly lose your network connection while editing.
- Many settings categories offer a list of items. Tapping on the “Menu” settings category will show you a list of all menu items.
- To add a new menu item, tap on the settings button at the top right of the screen to show a drop down menu, then tap on “Add New Menu Item”.
- To permanently delete a menu item, tap on the settings button at the top right of the screen to show a drop down menu, then tap on “Begin Editing”.
This will put an empty circle in front of each menu item, tap on the circle will select the item, it’ll appear as a tick in a blue circle. Tap on it again, will deselect the item. Select as many items as you wish to delete.
Once you have selected all items you wish to delete, tap on the settings button at the top right of the screen to show a drop down menu, then tap on “Delete Selected Menu Item(s)”.
Once you have finished editing the menu items, tap on the settings button at the top right of the screen to show a drop down menu, then tap on “End Editing”.
- To edit an existing menu item, make sure your screen looks like this:
And not like this:
(If you are in this view, refer to the last step to exit this view).
Tap on the menu item you wish to edit.
This will take you to the item’s screen, where you can change its name, the pricing, which printer it will print to, etc.
- Different login codes grant different levels of access to the settings. If your login code does not grant full access, you may find that certain settings categories are off-limits. This is used to allow staff limited editing capability without granting access to potentially-damaging site configuration options, or to allow network operators to undertake maintenance without granting them access to financial records, etc.